2014 Past Champions Provisional


updated on 7-13-2014


  • How the Past Champions Provisional Works: If after starting positions 1 through 42 are assigned via Group Qualifying and six provisonals there remains a car owner whose driver is the current or a former NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion who participated as a driver in the 2013 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series and who was entered in the Event for that owner in that car prior to the entry deadline, a 43rd provisional starting position, the "Champion's Provisional", will be assigned to that car owner.

    NASCAR Sprint Cup Series car owners are eligible for a maximum of six (6) "Champion's Provisional" opportunities during the current season, regardless of the Champion driver. The most recent NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champion driver not previously qualifying for positions 1 through 42 will be assigned the "Champion's Provisional" starting position if the car owner is eligible.

    NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champion's will be eligible for a maximum of six (6) "Champion's Provisional" opportunities during the current season. A current or former NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champion driver shall be eligible for a "Champion's Provisional" once every six (6) qualifying attempts in the current season after using a "Champion's Provisional".

    If the 43rd provisional starting position is not filled by an eligible NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion, it will be assigned to the next eligible car owner according to the as described above for positions 36-42.

  • Past Champions Provisional Rules that started in 2013: Past Sprint Cup champions can use a past champion's provisional only once every six races this season instead of having unlimited access to provisionals as in the past. Provisional starting spots are available to drivers who don't make the field on speed under NASCAR's new qualifying rules. Any past champion who ran at least one race the previous season starts the year with one provisional starting spot. Once a driver uses it, they must make six attempts to qualify before getting another past champion's provisional - the driver would get use of the provisional at that sixth race.(2-9-2013)

  • Previous Season the previous season owners points position is used for the first THREE races of the season

Driver Team Year of Last
Points Pos
Provisional Used
Races until
another provisional
can be used
1 Jimmie Johnson 48 2013 5 0 0
2 Brad Keselowski 2 2012 3 0 0
3 Tony Stewart 14 2011 19 0 0
4 Kurt Busch 41 2004 25 0 0
5 Matt Kenseth 20 2003 4 0 0
6 Jeff Gordon 24 2001 1 0 0
7 Bobby Labonte* (B) 52 2000 47 0 0
7 Bobby Labonte* (C) 33 2000 41 0 0
8 Terry Labonte* (A) 32 1996 37 0 0

* part time driver

  • (A) scheduled to run the four 2014 restrictor plate races for the #32 team, Daytona in February and July, Talladega in May and October.

  • (B) scheduled to run a limited schedule for Jame Finch in a 2nd HScott Motorsports Chevy. Ran the Daytona 500 and the team hasn't made an attempt since

  • (C) ran at Daytona in July and could run a few more races in the #33. Indianapolis and Richmond are possibilities

  • Past Champions Provisional Used in 2014:

Past Champion Provisional pages

2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007
2005-2006 - No Limits for Past Champ Provisional
2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999

Jayski's NASCAR Silly Season Site Sprint Cup News
Jayski's NASCAR Silly Season Site