Updated 11-21-1999
The 43rd and last starting position is the seventh provisional and will be available to a car owner who has a former NASCAR Winston Cup Series champion as his driver, if he has not otherwise qualified or if he does not make the field any other way. If no past champion has failed to qualify for the race then the 43rd spot goes to the next team in the owner points.(or NASCAR's decretion) If no former champion needs the spot, the 43rd position will be set using criteria from the event's entry blank, such as the next car owner in points who has not made the race as long as they have not used their allotment of provisionals
Going into effect with the 1999 edition of the Daytona 500, the former champions provisional will be awarded in a manner that is similar to regular car owners provisionals. That is to say that each team with the current or former champion in the car will be issued four provisionals when they attempt to qualify for the Daytona 500. Then, with every eighth qualifying attempt, the team with the current or former champion will be awarded one additional champion’s provisional. This would limit a team to a total of eight former champion’s provisionals. A team that features either the current champion or former champion will be limited to a total of eight provisionals in a single season. Any team, regardless of driver status, will be allowed to start a race with a provisional starting spot and not have the provisional "charged" to the team if they are in the top-25 in series points standings. See article at That's Racin'

There is only one former champion's provisional. It goes to the most recent champion when two champions fail to qualify. NASCAR sets the field by issuing the first six provisionals, then checks to see if a past Cup champion needs to use a past Champ Provisional. If there are two past champs at that point, the most recent past champ gets the spot(EX. If DW and Bill Elliott have not qualified for a regular team provisional, Elliott would get the spot since he won the Cup in 1988 and DW last won it in 1985). If no past champ needs to use the provisional, it goes to the next team in the Owners Points.
Former NASCAR Winston Cup Champions still active on the circuit are(most recent): Jeff Gordon; Terry Labonte; Dale Earnhardt; Rusty Wallace; Bill Elliott and Darrell Waltrip.

Standing Driver Team Year of Last
Present Owners
Points Pos
Champ Prov Used Prov Left Races Used
1 Jeff Gordon 24 1998 6 0 7 none
2 Terry Labonte 5 1996 12 0 7 none
3 Dale Earnhardt 3 1994 7 0 7 none
4 Rusty Wallace 2 1989 8 0 7 none
5 Bill Elliott 94 1988 21 0 7 none
6 Darrell Waltrip 66 1985 38 4 0 Daytona 2/99; Rockingham 2/99; Las Vegas 3/99; Atlanta 3/99
Champion Provisonal's Only


2004 Champions Provisionals
2003 Champions Provisionals
2002 Champions Provisionals
2001 Champions Provisionals
2000 Champions Provisionals
Jayski's NASCAR Silly Season Site Main Page

Born on Date: March 13, 1999

This page designed by Jayski LLC, 1996-2014© All Rights Reserved.
Jayski's® is a registered trademark of Jayski LLC
Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form without permission or credit.