Updated 11-30-2000
these award standings are from the Official NASCAR Race Results, I stopped calculating them myself


Rewards the top Engine Builders in Winston Cup using a special points system -
The top 15 finishing positions, according to the official NASCAR race reports,
receive points starting at 15 points for 1st place on down to 1 point for 15th place.
Bonus points are awarded to starting positions 1, 2 and 3
(pole position=5 points, 2nd=3 points and 3rd=1 point).
Also, five (5) additional bonus points are awarded for the car that leads the most laps per race,
according to the NASCAR race report.

The Engine Builder of the year receives $77,000, second $20,000 and third $10,000

Car# Engine Builder  Pts.
#18  Mark Cronquist  216
#2   Larry Wallace   216
#99  Richard Langell 208

GATORADE FRONT RUNNER AWARD Points awarded as follows - 1 point to any driver who leads a lap during a race and 3 points to the driver who leads the most laps in a race. If a tie occurs, the driver with the highest finishing position wins the award. The driver who leads the most laps in a race wins $10,000. The driver who has the highest number of points at the end of the year receives $75,000. If a tie occurs, the award goes to the driver highest in Winston Cup drivers points. Car# Driver Pts. #2 Rusty Wallace 33 #99 Jeff Burton 32 #18 Bobby Labonte 27
PLASTI-KOTE QUALITY FINISH AWARD Plasti-Kote, the Official Spray Paint of NASCAR, presents a $4,300 Winning Finish Award to the crew chief of the winning car in each of the 34 NASCAR Winston Cup Series events. At the conclusion of the season, Plasti-Kote will present $65,000 in Quality Finish Awards to the crew chiefs on the top three teams that post the best average overall finishing positions in 34 NWCS races this season. Car# Crew Chief Avg Fin #18 Jimmy Makar 7.44 #3 Kevin Hamlin 9.38 #99 Frank Stoddard 10.24
EXIDE ALL CHARGED UP AWARD Exide presents the All Charged Up Award to the eligible driver who, at the end of the race, has advanced the most number of positions from the start of the race to the completion. In the event of a tie, the driver finishing the highest in the race will be the recipient of the award. At each of the 34 Cup races, Exide will present $4,000 to the eligible driver(using an Exide battery) In addition, Exide presents $50,000 to the eligible driver who accumulates the most Exide All Charged Up Award points throughout the season. Only the driver who wins a weekly All Charged Up Award accumulates points toward the $50,000 year-end award. #99 Jeff Burton won the 2000 Award - final results - from Exide... Car# Driver Pts. #99 Jeff Burton 251 #10 Johnny Benson 95 #12 Jeremy Mayfield 64 #17 Matt Kenseth 43 #43 John Andretti 39 #13 Robby Gordon 38 #94 Bill Elliott 35 #27 Mike Bliss 34 #26 Jimmy Spencer 32 #7 Michael Waltrip 31 #32 Scott Pruett 27 #77 Robert Pressley 26 #6 Mark Martin 25 #97 Chad Little 23 #36 Ken Schrader 23 #11 Brett Bodine 20 #21 Elliott Sadler 20 #44/45 Kyle Petty 17 #15 Derrike Cope 17

Jayski's NASCAR Silly Season Site Main Page

Born on Date: September 6, 2000

This page designed by Jayski LLC, 1996-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Jayski's is a registered trademark of Jayski LLC
Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form without permission or credit.