Updated 11-24-2003

The 43rd and last starting position is the seventh provisional and will be available to a car owner who has a former NASCAR Winston Cup Series champion as his driver, if he has not otherwise qualified or if he does not make the field any other way. If no past champion has failed to qualify for the race then the 43rd spot goes to the next team in the owner points.(or NASCAR's decretion) If no former champion needs the spot, the 43rd position will be set using criteria from the event's entry blank, such as the next car owner in points who has not made the race as long as they have not used their allotment of provisionals.
The former champions provisional will be awarded in a manner that is similar to regular car owners provisionals. That is to say that each team with the current or former champion in the car will be issued four provisionals when they attempt to qualify for the Daytona 500. Then, with every eighth qualifying attempt, the team with the current or former champion will be awarded one additional champion’s provisional. This would limit a team to a total of eight former champion’s provisionals. A team that features either the current champion or former champion will be limited to a total of eight provisionals in a single season. Any team, regardless of driver status, will be allowed to start a race with a provisional starting spot and not have the provisional "charged" to the team if they are in the top-25 in series points standings.
There is only one former champion's provisional per race. It goes to the most recent champion when two champions fail to qualify. NASCAR sets the field by issuing the first six provisionals, then checks to see if a past Cup champion needs to use a past Champ Provisional. If there are two past champs at that point, the most recent past champ gets the spot. If no past champ needs to use the provisional, it goes to the next team in the Owners Points.
Former NASCAR Winston Cup Champions still active on the circuit are(most recent): Tony Stewart, Jeff Gordon; Bobby Labonte; Dale Jarrett; Terry Labonte; Rusty Wallace; and Bill Elliott. This provisional is a DRIVER provisonal and goes with him when he leaves a team.

NO Previous Champion Provisionals used in 2001
NO Previous Champion Provisionals used in 2002
NO Previous Champion Provisionals used in 2003 - so far

Standing Driver Team Year of Last
Points Pos
1 Tony Stewart 20 2002 7 0 4 none
2 Jeff Gordon 24 2001 4 0 4 none
3 Bobby Labonte 18 2000 8 0 4 none
4 Dale Jarrett 88 1999 25 0 4 none
5 Terry Labonte 5 1996 10 0 4 none
6 Rusty Wallace 2 1989 14 0 4 none
7 Bill Elliott 9 1988 9 0 4 none
Champion Provisonal's Only


2003 Provisional Status Page
2002 Past Champion Provisional Info Page
2001 Past Champion Provisional Info Page
2000 Past Champion Provisional Info Page
1999 Champion Provisional Info Page
Stats Main Page and Stats Links

Jayski's Silly Season Site Sprint Cup News Page
Jayski's NASCAR Silly Season Site Main Page

the Jayski site is owned and served by:

Born on Date: February 11, 2003

This page designed by Jayski LLC, 1996-2012© All Rights Reserved.
Jayski's® is a registered trademark of Jayski LLC
Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form without permission or credit.