Updated 11-9-2008

Driver Team Year of Last
Points Pos
1 Jimmie Johnson 48 2007 1 0 6
2 Tony Stewart 20 2005 9 0 6
3 Kurt Busch 2 2004 20 1 5
4 Matt Kenseth 17 2003 8 0 6
5 Jeff Gordon 24 2001 5 0 6
6 Bobby Labonte 43 2000 22 0 6
7 Terry Labonte 45 1996 40 2 4
8 Bill Elliott 21 1988 41 1 5

  • Terry Labonte to Drive for Petty: Terry Labonte will be a teammate to his brother Bobby at Petty Enterprises starting next month, pending sponsor approval. Terry (and Chad McCumbee) will drive the #45 when Kyle Petty gets out for the summer. Petty is scheduled to compete in the Coca-Cola 600 and then miss the next seven races (one for his daughter's wedding and the other six to work as an analyst for TNT). McCumbee likely will drive at Dover and Chicago. Terry Labonte likely will drive in the other five races. Labonte's addition is key for Petty Enterprises because the #45 car is not in the top 35 in car owner points. Labonte's second of his two titles came in 1996 -- that makes him the most recent champion not in the top 35 since Bill Elliott's title came in 1988. Thus, Labonte would be guaranteed a starting spot each time he starts, while the Wood Brothers would lose that even with Elliott in the seat. This would be the second time the Labonte brothers have run as teammates. Terry Labonte drove in five races for Joe Gibbs Racing in 2005 when Bobby Labonte was there. Terry Labonte ranks fourth in series history with 851 career starts. He won 22 races.(Roanoke Times)(5-11-2008) Comment here

  • in 2008 Kurt Busch is now in the mix since Penske Racing switched owners points between the #2 and the #77 [was #06] after the 007 season, which was ok'd by NASCAR. #44-Dale Jarrett and #21-Bill Elliott are next in line. The other past champs are all in the top-35 in owners points and do not need the use of the past champ provisional, at least for the first five races. Jarrett retires after the 5th race at Bristol. 1996 [and 1984] champ, Terry Labonte, has made no indication that he would run any races in 2008. He ran three races for MWR in the #55 car. Jarrett used all 6 of his past champ provisional's in the first 9 races of the 2008 season and missed some races because of it.
    Elliott is scheduled to run around 17 races for the Wood Brothers in the #21 Ford throughout the season

    2009 Past Champion Provisional Info Page
    2007 Past Champion Provisional Info Page
    2005-2006 - No Limits on the use of the Past Champion Provisional
    2004 Past Champion Provisional Info Page
    2003 Past Champion Provisional Info Page
    2002 Past Champion Provisional Info Page
    2001 Past Champion Provisional Info Page
    2000 Past Champion Provisional Info Page
    1999 Champion Provisional Info Page
    Stats Main Page and Stats Links

    Jayski's Silly Season Site Sprint Cup News Page

    Jayski's NASCAR Silly Season Site Main Page

    the Jayski site is owned and served by:

    Born on Date: February 7, 2008

    This page designed by Jayski LLC, 1996-2014© All Rights Reserved.
    Jayski's® is a registered trademark of Jayski LLC
    Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form without permission or credit.
  • >