Updated 2-6-2010

THE RACE, February 6, 2010

TV: FOX at 8:10pm/et

Jumps to sections on this page:

Final Results
Segment 1 Results
TV Info, Practices
Starting Lineup Order
some facts and records
Practice Results
Budweiser Shootout Tidbits/Numbers
Race News
Drivers/Teams Chart
Race Rules
Past Bud Shootout Winners
Drivers IF using the 2009 Manufacturers Owners Pts Rules


2010 Budweiser Shootout eligibility rules:
• The 12 drivers that qualified for the 2009 Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup
• Past NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champions
• Past Budweiser Shootout champions
• Past Daytona 500 and Coke Zero 400 champions
• The reigning Raybestos Rookie of the Year
(based on a driver having competed in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series within the last two seasons)

Twenty-Four Drivers eligible that have rides and announced plans to run the race
Car# Driver Why Eligible
48 Jimmie Johnson 2009 Chase, Series Champion, Daytona 500, Budweiser Shootout
5 Mark Martin 2009 Chase, Budweiser Shootout
24 Jeff Gordon 2009 Chase, Series Champion, Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400, Budweiser Shootout
2 Kurt Busch 2009 Chase, Series Champion
11 Denny Hamlin 2009 Chase, Budweiser Shootout
14 Tony Stewart 2009 Chase, Series Champion, Coke Zero 400, Budweiser Shootout
16 Greg Biffle 2009 Chase, Coke Zero 400
42 Juan Pablo Montoya 2009 Chase
39 Ryan Newman 2009 Chase, Daytona 500
9 Kasey Kahne 2009 Chase
99 Carl Edwards 2009 Chase
83 Brian Vickers 2009 Chase
1 Jamie McMurray Coke Zero 400
17 Matt Kenseth Series Champion, Daytona 500
18 Kyle Busch Coke Zero 400
20 Joey Logano reigning Raybestos Rookie of the Year
29 Kevin Harvick Daytona 500, Budweiser Shootout
31 Jeff Burton Coke Zero 400
34 John Andretti Coke Zero 400
51 Michael Waltrip Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400
71 Bobby Labonte Series Champion
75 Derrike Cope Daytona 500
82 Ken Schrader Budweiser Shootout
88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400, Budweiser Shootout
Four Drivers eligible have not announced rides for the race
x Geoff Bodine Daytona 500, Budweiser Shootout
x Bill Elliott Series champion, Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400, Budweiser Shootout
x Terry Labonte Series champion, Budweiser Shootout
x Sterling Marlin Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400

Past News about the Budweiser Shootout



This was the possible lineup under the 2009 rules, based on the manufacturers owners points, only used one year, in 2009

was based on the FINAL 2009 car owner points [NOT driver points]

lineup would had consisted of the top six teams from each manufacturer until the rules changes on 12-23-2009

plus a wildcard, past champ or next in line in owners points

  Car# Final 2009 Driver 2010 Driver Team Owners
1 48 Jimmie Johnson Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Motorsports 1-x
2 5 Mark Martin Mark Martin Hendrick Motorsports 2-x
3 07 Jeff Gordon Jeff Gordon Hendrick Motorsports 3-x
4 14 Tony Stewart Tony Stewart Stewart Haas Racing 6-x
5 42 Juan Pablo Montoya Juan Pablo Montoya Earnhardt Ganassi Racing 8-x
6 39 Ryan Newman Ryan Newman Stewart Haas Racing 9-x
wildcard 71 Bobby Labonte Bobby Labonte TRG Motorsports (D) 37
out 33 Clint Bowyer Clint Bowyer Richard Childress Racing 15
out 31 Jeff Burton Jeff Burton Richard Childress Racing 17
  Car# Final 2009 Driver 2010 Driver Team Owners
1 2 Kurt Busch Kurt Busch Penske Racing 4
2 9 Kasey Kahne Kasey Kahne (A) Richard Petty Motorsports 10
3 44 A.J. Allmendinger closed (A) Richard Petty Motorsports 24
4 19 Elliott Sadler Elliott Sadler (A) Richard Petty Motorsports 26
5 77 Sam Hornish Jr. Sam Hornish Jr. Penske Racing 28
6 43 Reed Sorenson A.J. Allmendinger (A) Richard Petty Motorsports 29
wildcard 12 David Stremme
Brad Keselowski
Brad Keselowski Penske Racing 30
  Car# Final 2009 Driver 2010 Driver Team Owners
1 16 Greg Biffle Greg Biffle Roush Fenway Racing 7-x
2 99 Carl Edwards Carl Edwards Roush Fenway Racing 11-x
3 17 Matt Kenseth Matt Kenseth Roush Fenway Racing 14
4 26 Jamie McMurray (closed) Roush Fenway Racing 22
5 6 David Ragan David Ragan Roush Fenway Racing 27
6 96 Bobby Labonte
Erik Darnell
TBA - closed? Hall of Fame Racing
Yates Racing (B)
wildcard 98 Paul Menard Paul Menard Yates Racing
Richard Petty Motorsports (A)
7 out 21 Bill Elliott Bill Elliott Wood Brothers Racing (B) 44
  Car# Final 2009 Driver 2010 Driver Team Owners
1 11 Denny Hamlin Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Racing 5-x
2 83 Brian Vickers Brian Vickers Red Bull Racing 12-x
3 18 Kyle Busch Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing 13
4 00 David Reutimann David Reutimann Michael Waltrip Racing 16
5 47 Marcos Ambrose Marcos Ambrose JTG Daughtery Racing 18
6 20 Joey Logano Joey Logano Joe Gibbs Racing 20
wildcard 56 [was #55] Michael Waltrip Martin Truex Jr. Michael Waltrip Racing (C) 29
out 7 Robby Gordon Robby Gordon Robby Gordon Motorsports 34
out 8 Scott Speed Scott Speed Red Bull Racing 36

x = Chase Teams

(A) - Richard Petty Motorsports will merge with Yates Racing and run Fords and not Dodges in 2010. Also the #44 team will close, no idea if the #43 team or #98 team will get the owners points from the #44 team. RPM could run Dodges in the race, as Robby Gordon did in 2009 [when he switched to Toyota]. If the team decides not to run Dodge, assuming they would not run the race. #42-Juan Pablo Montoya did not run the race in 2009 aft EGR switched from Dodge to Chevy

(B) - Hall of Fame's #96 team is not doing an alliance with Yates Racing in 2010, no announcments have been made by Hall of Fame Racing on its 2010 plan or who will drive. So if the team does not run in 2010 or change manufacturer, the #21 could move into the race, if it wishes to run.

(C) - Martin Truex Jr. moves to Michael Waltrip Racing and will run the #56, Waltrip semi-retires, scheduled to run four races in the #55 during the 2010 season, the #56 will get the owners points from the #55, which looks like will get Truex in the as the wildcard.

(D) - gets the wildcard as a past champion who has run the full 2009 season

Blue indicates driver change for 2010


Moved to my All-Time Pole Award Winners page

Past Budweiser Shootouts Pages
2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006
2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001
2000 | 1999

Stats Main Page and Stats Links
Jayski's Silly Season Site Sprint Cup News Page
Jayski's NASCAR Silly Season Site Main Page

the Jayski site is owned and served by:

This page designed by Jayski LLC, 1996-2014© All Rights Reserved.
Jayski's® is a registered trademark of Jayski LLC
Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form without permission or credit.