Skip to content
 Promo Image

Drive for Diversity class introduced

Reporters met the 2017 NASCAR Drive for Diversity class in the Daytona media center on Thursday. The class includes Collin Cabre and Chase Cabre, the first siblings ever to participate in the same D4D class; Ruben Garcia Jr., the youngest driver to win the NASCAR Peak Mexico Series championship (in 2015 at age 20); Jay Beasley, the first African-American driver to win a Super late Model race at the Las Vegas Motor Speedway bullring; Madeline Crane, who posted 59 top fives in 82 starts in Legend cars; and Macy Causey, the granddaughter of Diane Teel, the first female driver to compete in what is now the NASCAR XFINITY Series.

The introduction of the 2017 Drive For Diversity class followed a luncheon that featured the presentation of 10th annual NASCAR Diversity Awards. Winners were as follows:

Daniel Suarez-NASCAR Ignition Award.

Jesse Iwuji-NASCAR Diverse Driver Award

Peri Karslioglu-NASCAR Diversity Internship Participant Award

Association of Latino Professionals for America (ALPFA)-NASCAR Institution Award

Hallie Deegan-Young racer Award

Smithfield-NASCAR Partner Award

Kenyatta Houston-NASCAR Diverse Crew Member Award

Pocono Raceway-NASCAR Track Award

Patriot Motorsports/Circle Track Racing-NASCAR Team Award

Josh Avila-Industry Ambassador Award

(NASCAR Wire Service)