Following Ross Chastain’s Gander Outdoors Truck Series race disqualification at Iowa, NASCAR issued a rule book update Wednesday to clarify that any L1 or L2 penalty in post race inspection would result in a disqualification.
In race accident damage can be considered by NASCAR when a vehicle fails post-race inspection.
NASCAR issued an update to its DQ language in the rulebook today. Basically it removes any ambiguity about whether an L1/L2 penalty will trigger a DQ (it will) and also says race damage will be considered (but only if accident-caused). pic.twitter.com/EfFFQA78IK
— Jeff Gluck (@jeff_gluck) June 26, 2019