Skip to content
 Promo Image

Weekend Preview: New Hampshire Motor Speedway

One year ago, Kevin Harvick held off a hard-charging Denny Hamlin at New Hampshire Motor Speedway in a battle that saw the two beat and bang through the final lap to end a 21-race winless streak for the driver of the No. 4 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford.

There’s every reason to believe that fans could be treated to the same thrilling finish again this year between the two in the Foxwoods Resort Casino 301 on Sunday at 3 p.m. ET on NBCSN, PRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio.

Harvick and Hamlin have been the cream of the crop in the NASCAR Cup Series this season, combining to win nine races – a series-leading five for Hamlin and four for Harvick – out of the 19 contested thus far. Hamlin won the most recent race at Kansas, while Harvick last visited Victory Lane in Indianapolis at the beginning of July.

Following the Kansas win, Hamlin reflected on the rivalry that has developed with Harvick over the past 12 months.

“What you’ve seen from us in the last year with the 11 and the 4 is a lot of mutual respect,” Hamlin said. “We race each other with a lot of mutual respect because we know it won’t be the last time. We still have probably many years of battles ahead of us.  We’ve been around the sport a long time. We butted heads early in my career. He’s certainly a guy that I personally would like to model myself after.”

The duo is pretty evenly matched at New Hampshire in nearly every way on paper – Harvick leads all active drivers in wins at New Hampshire with four while Hamlin has three. Harvick is tied with Matt Kenseth for series-most top fives among active drivers with 12 each; Hamlin is right behind them with 10. And Hamlin leads the series in runner-up finishes at New Hampshire with five second-place results; including last year. Harvick has finished second or third a total of three times at the “Magic Mile.”

But while the spotlight will surely be on the two drivers who have dominated the season thus far, New Hampshire also puts the pressure on the postseason push for drivers on the bubble. With only seven races to go before NASCAR’s Playoffs begins, 10 drivers are locked into the postseason on wins, leaving six spots up for grabs.

Clint Bowyer, Matt DiBenedetto and William Byron are currently hanging on to the final three slots based on points, but their lead is precarious and they can be knocked out if a driver outside of the current Playoff 16 wins in an upcoming week. And seven-time Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson, driving in his final full-time season, is 18 points to the bad outside the Playoff picture.

Of those battling on the Playoff bubble or sitting on the outside looking in, Johnson, Kenseth and Ryan Newman lead the group with three wins each in Loudon. Bowyer has two wins at New Hampshire.

And although they are both in a secure position in the points, brothers Kyle Busch and Kurt Busch are still looking for their first win of the year and each have three wins at New Hampshire.

Or could we see a first-time series winner this weekend? It has happened before. New Hampshire is home to five first-time Cup winners; including Joey Logano’s first series career victory in the June 2009 race in his rookie year.

NASCAR Cup Series
Next Race: Foxwoods Resort Casino 301
The Place: New Hampshire Motor Speedway
The Date: Sunday, August 2
The Time: 3 p.m. ET
TV: NBCSN, 2:30 p.m. ET
Radio: PRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio
Distance: 318.46 miles (301 laps); Stage 1 (Ends on Lap 75), Stage 2 (Ends on Lap 185), Final Stage (Ends on Lap 301)
2019 Race Winner: Kevin Harvick

What To Watch For: New Hampshire Motor Speedway has hosted 48 NASCAR Cup Series races producing 22 different pole winners and 24 race winners. … The first NASCAR Cup Series race at New Hampshire was held on July 11, 1993 and was won by NASCAR Hall of Famer Rusty Wallace driving the No. 2 Ford for Roger Penske. … Ryan Newman leads the series in poles at New Hampshire with seven. … Jeff Burton and Kevin Harvick are tied for the series-most wins at New Hampshire with four each. … A total of 19 different drivers have made their first NASCAR Cup Series start at New Hampshire Motor Speedway; four of the drivers are active – Joey Logano (2008), Corey LaJoie (2014), Ryan Preece (2015), B.J. McLeod (2015). … In total 22 different NASCAR Cup Series drivers have won the pole at New Hampshire, and eight are active this weekend. … A total of 24 different NASCAR Cup Series drivers have won at New Hampshire Motor Speedway; nine are active this weekend. … Five NASCAR Cup Series drivers have posted their first career win at New Hampshire Motor Speedway – Joey Logano (2009), Clint Bowyer (2007), Ryan Newman (2002), Robby Gordon (2001), Joe Nemechek (1999). … Six of the 48 (12.5%) NASCAR Cup Series races at New Hampshire have been won from the pole or first starting position; the most recent was Kyle Busch in 2017. Ryan Newman is the only driver to do it more than once (2002, 2011). … The deepest in the field that a race winner has started at New Hampshire is 38th, by Jeff Burton in 1999.

— NASCAR Wire Service —