Jayski's Silly Season SiteJayski's Silly Season Site
DAYTONA BEACH, FLORIDA - AUGUST 29: Kevin Harvick, driver of the #4 Mobil 1 Ford, poses for a photo after being awarded the 2020 NASCAR Cup Series regular season championship prior during the NASCAR Cup Series Coke Zero Sugar 400 at Daytona International Speedway on August 29, 2020 in Daytona Beach, Florida. (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images) | Getty Images

Kevin Harvick recognized as regular season champion

Stewart-Haas Racing driver Kevin Harvick was officially crowned the 2020 NASCAR Cup Series Regular Season Champion on Saturday night before the Coke Zero 400 at Daytona International Speedway.

NASCAR President Steve Phelps was on hand to virtually present the trophy to the former series champion, along with Coca-Cola executives.

Clinching the regular-season title hands Harvick a 15-point bonus heading into the 10-race NASCAR Playoffs, which begins Sept. 6 with the Southern 500 at Darlington Raceway. The top-10 finishers in the regular-season standings receive bonus points on a sliding scale, starting with 15 for first and ending with one playoff point for 10th.