Skip to content
Jayski's Silly Season SiteJayski's Silly Season Site

Texas post-race penalties announced

NASCAR released the Post-Event Penalty Report for Texas Motor Speedway:

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Texas Motor Speedway

Infraction Date: 4/8/2018 (post-race inspection)
Team: #9-Chase Elliott
Violation: Section Rear Window Support and Structure Note: Rear Window Support Braces must keep the rear window glass rigid in all direction at all times
Penalty: Crew Chief (Alan Gustafson) has been suspended for the next two Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Championship Points Events and fined $50,000. Team has been assessed with the loss of 20 owner points and 20 driver points.

NASCAR XFINITY Series Texas Motor Speedway


NASCAR Penalty

Mason M. Mitchell, Charles E. Moles, and Jeremy L. Murphy have been indefinitely suspended from NASCAR for violation of the substance abuse policy.


AND Hendrick Motorsports will not appeal the penalty announced today by NASCAR stemming from an unintentional support bracket failure at Texas Motor Speedway.
Kenny Francis, 48, has been named interim crew chief of the No. 9 NASCAR Cup Series team with driver Chase Elliott for the April 15 event at Bristol Motor Speedway and the April 21 event at Richmond Raceway. The Jacksonville, Florida, native, who was Elliott’s crew chief for five points races in 2015 and one in 2017, currently serves as Hendrick Motorsports’ vehicle technical director and has 17 wins, 75 top-five finishes and 149 top-10s as a Cup Series crew chief.

— Hendrick Motorsports —