Skip to content
Jayski's Silly Season SiteJayski's Silly Season Site
Motorsports Hall of Fame of America/Rick Hendrick/Class of 2020 Inductee Display Case. Image Thomas R. Miller Photography

Motorsports Hall of Fame of America wins ISHY Award for Class of 2020 Inductee Displays of Red Byron, Tiny Lund, Rick Hendrick

The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) reaffirmed its standing as one of the country’s top sports museums after winning a prestigious award from the International Sports Heritage Association (ISHA).

The MSHFA took home the ISHY Award in the category of Hall of Fame Inductions and/or Annual Event Materials for its Class of 2020 Inductee Display Cases. A special ISHA committee reviewed submissions from a number of organizations in a wide range of classifications.

The ISHY Awards program was established to provide recognition for excellence in publications by all member sports museums, halls of fame or sports heritage organizations, regardless of size or budget, based upon a competition evaluated by ISHA members.

Demetra Todd, who is tasked to organize the display cases for each class every year, and Operations Manager Don Cooper, who was in charge of handling the artifacts, were recognized by Levy for their efforts on this project inside the museum, which is located in Daytona International Speedway’s Ticket & Tours Building.

The MSHFA Class of 2020 included NASCAR’s first-ever champion Robert “Red” Byron (Historic); flat-track impresario Chris Carr (Motorcycles); early motorcycle racer, promoter and publisher Floyd Clymer (At Large); and driver, official and safety advocate Wally Dallenbach, Sr. (Open Wheel).

They were joined by Rick Hendrick, NASCAR’s most successful owner (Stock Cars), Daytona 500 champion Tiny Lund (Historic), Can-Am and Rolex 24 At Daytona champion Jacky Ickx (Sports Cars), quarter-mile racing legend “Ohio George” Montgomery (Drag Racing) and multi-time Baja 1000 and SCORE Champion Ivan “Ironman” Stewart (Off Road).

— Motorsports Hall of Fame of America —