CHARLOTTE, NC - MAY 11: A general view of the NASCAR Hall of Fame. Jimmy Johnson Hall of Fame Nominee Class of 2024
CHARLOTTE, NC - MAY 11: A general view of the NASCAR Hall of Fame. Jimmy Johnson Hall of Fame Nominee Class of 2024

NASCAR Announces Nominees for NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2024

NASCAR today announced the 15 nominees for the NASCAR Hall of Fame’s Class of 2024 and the five nominees for the Landmark Award for Outstanding Contributions to NASCAR. Jimmy Johnson hall of fame nominee included in the class of 2024.

Seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion duo Jimmie Johnson and Chad Knaus join the Modern Era ballot together in their first year of eligibility. Donnie Allison, an original member of the fan-favorite Alabama Gang joins the Pioneer ballot for the first time.

Ten nominees appear on the Modern Era ballot, five on the Pioneer ballot – designed to honor those whose careers began more than 60 years ago. Two Modern Era candidates and one Pioneer candidate will be elected as the Class of 2024.

Longtime NASCAR executive Les Richter joins the Landmark Award ballot for the first time after being on the Hall of Fame ballot three times before the award was created. The Landmark Award honors those who made significant contributions to the growth and esteem of NASCAR.

The NASCAR Hall of Fame Voting Panel will meet in person to discuss and vote for the Class of 2023 and Landmark Award on Wednesday, Aug. 2.  The 61-person panel remains unchanged from last year, apart from reigning champion Joey Logano who replaces Kyle Larson and Chase Elliott (both voted last year due to the COVID-19 pandemic delay). The 62nd vote goes to winners of a Fan Vote ( The Fan Vote is currently open and will close on July 30 at 12:00 a.m. ET.

The Modern Era Ballot and Landmark Award nominees were selected by the Nomination Committee, which consists of representatives from NASCAR and the NASCAR Hall of Fame, track owners from major facilities and historic short tracks. The Honors Committee, largely comprised of all living Hall of Famers, Landmark Award winners and Squier-Hall Award winners, selected the Pioneer Ballot.

Following are the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2024 nominees and Landmark Award nominees:

Modern Era Ballot

  • Neil Bonnett, won 18 times in the NASCAR Cup Series including consecutive Coca-Cola 600 victories
  • Tim Brewer, two-time NASCAR Cup Series champion crew chief
  • Jeff Burton, won 21 times in the NASCAR Cup Series including the Southern 500 and two Coca-Cola 600s
  • Carl Edwards, winner of 28 NASCAR Cup Series races and 2007 Xfinity Series champion
  • Harry Gant, winner of 18 NASCAR Cup Series races, including two Southern 500 victories
  • Harry Hyde, 1970 NASCAR Cup Series championship crew chief
  • Jimmie Johnson, seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion
  • Chad Knaus, seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion crew chief
  • Larry Phillips, first five-time NASCAR weekly series national champion
  • Ricky Rudd, won 23 times in NASCAR Cup Series, including the 1997 Brickyard 400

Pioneer Ballot

  • Donnie Allison, ten-time NASCAR Cup Series winner, 1967 Cup Series ROY
  • Sam Ard, NASCAR Xfinity Series pioneer and two-time champion
  • AJ Foyt, won seven NASCAR Cup Series races including the 1972 Daytona 500
  • Banjo Matthews, built cars that won more than 250 NASCAR Cup Series races and three championships
  • Ralph Moody, two-time NASCAR Cup Series owner champion as mechanical genius of Holman-Moody

Landmark Award

  • Janet Guthrie, the first female to compete in a NASCAR Cup Series superspeedway race
  • Alvin Hawkins, NASCAR’s first flagman; established NASCAR racing at Bowman Gray Stadium with Bill France Sr.
  • Lesa France Kennedy, NASCAR Executive Vice Chair and one of the most influential women in sports
  • Dr. Joseph Mattioli, founder of Pocono Raceway
  • Les Richer, long-time NASCAR executive oversaw competition, helped grow the sport on the West Coast