Kevin Harvick out of Championship contention but looking for 10th win

Kevin Harvick has won a career-high nine races in 2020, the wins coming at Darlington (S.C.) Raceway, where he won twice, Atlanta Motor Speedway, Pocono (Pa.) Raceway, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, a sweep of the doubleheader at Michigan International Speedway in Brooklyn, Dover (Del.) International Speedway and Bristol (Tenn.) Motor Speedway.

If he wins at Phoenix Sunday, he will join Bobby Allison, Richard Petty, Cale Yarborough, David Pearson, Rusty Wallace, Jeff Gordon, Jimmie Johnson, Bill Elliott, Dale Earnhardt and Darrell Waltrip as a member of the 10-win club.

And Harvick would not be the first driver to win 10 races and not win the championship. It’s happened several times before.


Bobby Allison 1972

Richard Petty 1974 (won championship)

Cale Yarborough 1974

David Pearson 1976

Cale Yarborough 1978 (won championship)

Rusty Wallace 1993

Jeff Gordon 1996

Jeff Gordon 1997 (won championship)

Jimmie Johnson 2007 (won championship)



David Pearson 1973

Bill Elliott 1985

Dale Earnhardt 1987 (won championship)



Darrell Waltrip 1981 (won championship)

Darrell Waltrip 1982 (won championship)



Richard Petty 1975 (won championship)

Jeff Gordon 1998 (won championship)


The points system was different in prior years, but 10 would be a nice number to achieve and hasn’t been accomplished since 2007, when Jimmie Johnson won 10 races.

It’s been a solid year for Harvick as his nine wins, 20 top-fives, 26 top-10s and 1,531 laps led are all series-bests in 2020. He can also keep climbing the record books. Harvick is 14th all-time in laps completed with 204,792 after Sunday’s race at Martinsville (Va.) Speedway and is the leader among active drivers. He could pass 1989 Cup Series champion Wallace, who is 13th with 204,818, at Phoenix by getting to lap 27. If he gets to lap 208, he will surpass 205,000 completed.

— True Speed Communications —