Skip to content
Jayski's Silly Season SiteJayski's Silly Season Site

Kyle Larson wins Chili Bowl for second year in a row

It took 13-years for Kyle Larson to win the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals presented by General Tire, but it only took one to add a second Golden Driller to his trophy case as the California shoe led start to finish in Saturday’s 55-lap championship event.

Not without challenge, Larson had to fend off the charge of Justin Grant numerous times and Christopher Bell in the closing laps.

“To get two of these feels awesome,” said Larson as his son, Owen, hand-delivered the Golden Driller. “It was a different race than last year, but just thankful to get the chance to even come race here. I think a lot of us thought maybe we wouldn’t get to come run the Chili Bowl with the pandemic going on, so hats off to Emmett Hahn and everyone else with this event. It’s the greatest event in the world, and very lucky to be a part of it.”

Green, white, checkered for the Golden Driller, Larson set sail by 1.246-seconds.

Justin Grant crossed second with Tanner Thorson moving up eight spots to third. Cannon McIntosh was fourth with Owasso’s Daryn Pittman coming in as the night’s Hard Charger with a run from 20th to fifth.

Chris Windom moved from 14th to sixth with Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. seventh. Up 11 spots, Brad Sweet made it to eighth. Spencer Bayston made up six positions to ninth, with Logan Seavey wheeling 17th to tenth.

See much more and complete reults at Chili