2c409d9d E40d 45cf Aaee 620dcf14fb53

2023 Championship Tire Specialist award announced

Champion Tire & Wheel has announced the recipient of the 2023 Nascar Cup Series “Consistently Smooth” award will be; Dave “Mule” Nichols of Penske Racing #12 Ford Mustang driven by Ryan Blaney.

The award recognizes the skill and effort of the #12 team’s tire specialist in overseeing the tire and wheel program.  The tire specialist’s craft is an essential piece in the performance formula for a championship effort as it requires managing a program of over 2,500 tires and wheels used throughout the full race season.  When the call for a pit stop comes, the effort to find the right combination of tires, wheels, and air pressure are critical components of the overall performance of the race car.

The lead crystal trophy will be presented to Nichols with Blaney, Crew Chief Jonathan Hassler, and team manager Mike Nelson at the team’s shop in Mooresville, NC.

In addition to the Cup series recipient, Champion Tire & Wheel will also present Championship Tire Specialists award for the Xfinity Series to Daine Anderson, the tire specialist for the #00 Stewart Haas entry, driven by Cole Custer; and for the Craftsman Truck Series, Justin Wicher, the tire specialist for the #99 Thorsport Racing entry, driven by  Ben Rhodes.

— Champion Tire & Wheel —