Jayski's Silly Season SiteJayski's Silly Season Site

Jon Desrocher named Champion Tire & Wheel “Consistently Smooth” award winner

Champion Tire & Wheel has announced the recipient of the 2019 Monster Energy Nascar Cup Series "Consistently Smooth" award will be; Jon Desrocher of Joe Gibbs Racing #18 Toyota Camry driven by Kyle Busch.

The award recognizes the skill and effort of the #18 team’s tire specialist in overseeing the tire and wheel program. The tire specialist’s craft is an essential piece in the performance formula for a championship effort as it requires managing a program of over 2,500 tires and wheels used throughout the full race season. When the call for a pit stop comes, the effort to find the right combination of tires, wheels, and air pressure is absolutely critical in the overall performance of the race car.

The lead crystal trophy will be presented to Desrocher, Busch, Crew Chief Adam Stevens, and team owner Joe Gibbs at the teams shop in Huntersville, NC.

In addition to the Cup series recipients, Champion Tire & Wheel will also present Championship Tire Specialists award for the Xfinity Series to Kris McCabe, the tire specialist for the #2 Richard Childress Racing entry, driven by Tyler Reddick. The Camping World Truck Series tire specialist award for #88 Thorsport Racing, driven by Matt Crafton will be presented as well.

— Champion Tire & Wheel —