Jayski's Silly Season SiteJayski's Silly Season Site

Wayne Taylor Racing wins Rolex 24; Kyle Busch 9th in GT Daytona class

Wayne Taylor raised two sons to become world-class sports car drivers. In the biggest event in North America, the recent empty nester proved he’s still the man in charge.

Wayne Taylor Racing won the prestigious Rolex 24 at Daytona on Sunday for the second consecutive year, the third time in four seasons and fourth time overall, and moved within two Rolex victories of Chip Ganassi’s record six wins.

It was the first victory for the team owner without a Taylor behind the wheel and he grabbed his head in celebration, slammed the pit stand, then hugged his all-star driver lineup.

DrogSpeed USA won the Le Mans Prototype 2 class. BMW Team RLL won the GT Le Mans class for the second consecutive year. Paul Miller Racing won the GT Daytona class, the slowest but stacked division that had 18 entries including the Aim Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC F GT# with [Kyle] Busch.

Busch was really good in his first endurance race, but the team had its share of struggles with attrition and was never a contender.

Still, Busch said he’d be interested in a return to sports car racing, especially if Toyota or Lexus moves up to the prototype class, because he’d like a shot at racing for the overall win.

Associated Press