2023 NASCAR Cup Series Spring Darlington Race Page

Goodyear 400
Sunday, May 14, 2023
Darlington Raceway
Time: 3:00pm/et
TV: FS1 -  Radio: MRN, Sirius XM NASCAR

Race Specific News

Race Information

Opportunistic William Byron scores third win of 2023 at Darlington: William Byron took full advantage of a late on-track incident between Ross Chastain and Kyle Larson to triumph in Sunday’s Goodyear 400 Darlington Raceway and become the first three-time winner in the NASCAR Cup Series this season. For Byron, the victory was sweet redemption for last season’s spring race at the Lady in Black, where Joey Logano’s bump-and-run denied Byron his first victory at the fabled speedway. [Read More](5-14-2023)

#24-William Byron won the Goodyear 400 NASCAR Cup Series race at Darlington Raceway. The win is his 3rd win of the year, 1st at Darlington and 7th career win.
#4-Harvick finished 2nd followed by #9-Elliott, #6-Keselowski, #23-Wallace, #21-Burton, #8-Busch, #31-Haley, #12-Blaney, and #17-Buescher.
Pole winner #19-Truex, Jr. had an eventful day. He dominated the first stage and was in 2nd place on the final lap of the second stage when he spun out after contact with #1-Chastain. He worked his way back to 4th place with 13 laps to go before being caught in an accident. He finished 31st.
Bryon took the lead with 5 to go when Chastain and #5-Larson, who were running first and second, were involved in a wreck with one another.  The race ended after the first Overtime attempt.
Stage 1 was won by #19-Truex, Jr. Stage 2 was won by #1-Chastain.
There were 19 lead changes among 8 drivers and 8 cautions for 47 yellow flag laps.
The average speed of the race was: 118.880mph.
See race details at: Race Results, Driver Points Standings, Owner Points Standings, Cumulative Report, Penalty Report.

Race Fast Facts – Darlington:
William Byron won the Goodyear 400, his seventh victory in 193 Cup Series races.
This is his third victory and seventh top-10 finish in 2023.
This is his first victory and fourth top-10 finish in ten races at Darlington Raceway.
Kevin Harvick (second) posted his 19th top-10 finish in 31 races at Darlington Raceway. It is his sixth top-10 finish in 2023.
Chase Elliott (third) posted his sixth top-10 finish in 13 races at Darlington Raceway.
Ty Gibbs (16th) was the highest finishing rookie.
Ross Chastain leads the point standings by 27 points over Christopher Bell.
This marks the 100th win for the No. 24 car

Cup Series Playoff Standings after Darlington:
Race 13 of 26 in the regular season
1) #24-William Byron [3 wins], 387
2) #5-Kyle Larson [2 wins], 363
3) #8-Kyle Busch [2 win], 353
4) #20-Christopher Bell [1 win], 402
5) #11-Denny Hamlin [1 win], 393
6) #19-Martin Truex, Jr. [1 win], 385
7) #45-Tyler Reddick [1 win], 371
8) #22-Joey Logano [1 win], 334
9) #47-Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. [1 win], 325
10) #1-Ross Chastain, 429
11) #4-Kevin Harvick, 400
12) #12-Ryan Blaney, 381
13) #6-Brad Keselowski, 365
14) #17-Chris Buescher, 329
15) #23-Bubba Wallace, 293
16) #14-Chase Briscoe, 275
See the Driver Points Standings and Owner Points Standings.

Paint Schemes

Announced Paint Schemes

Cars to the rear: #7-LaJoie (unapproved adjustments), #15-Poole (unapproved adjustments)

Pit Stall Selections: The selections of pit stalls for the Goodyear 400 NASCAR Cup Series race at Darlington Raceway have been made.
Pole winner #19-Truex chose pit stall 1.
Outside pole sitter #23-Wallace took the eighth stall.
See all pit choices on the Darlington Pit Stall page.

#19-Martin Truex, Jr. won the Busch pole for the Goodyear 400 NASCAR Cup Series race at Darlington Raceway with speed of 169.409mph for his first pole of the year, first at Darlington and 21st of his career.
#23-Bubba Wallace will start second followed by #47-Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., #24-William Byron, #1-Ross Chastain, #99-Daniel Suarez, #5-Kyle Larson, #11-Denny Hamlin, #45-Tyler Reddick, and #6-Brad Keselowski.
See the complete qualifying results and the Goodyear 400 Starting Lineup.

Darlington Raceway – Qualifying Fast Facts:
Martin Truex Jr. won the Pole Award for the Goodyear 400 with a lap of 29.028 seconds, 169.409 mph.
This is his 21st pole in 634 NASCAR Cup Series races.
This is his first pole and fourth top-10 start in 2023.
This is his first pole in 22 races at Darlington Raceway.
Bubba Wallace (second) posted his second top-10 start of 2023 and his second in ten races at Darlington Raceway.
Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (third) posted his second top-10 start at Darlington Raceway. It is his fourth in 13 races this season.
Ty Gibbs (13th) was the fastest qualifying rookie.

Qualifying Order

Practice for the Goodyear 400 NASCAR Cup Series race at Darlington Raceway is complete:
#9-Elliott 168.232
#43-Jones 167.653
#24-Byron 167.550
#45-Reddick 167.402
#47-Stenhouse 166.998
Slowest: #15-Poole 160.790
Most laps run: 35, #10-Almirola
Best 10 consecutive lap avg (of 32 drivers):#24-Byron, 163.704
See the fastest speeds, best 10 consecutive lap average, laps run, and more on the Goodyear 400 Practice speeds page.

Crew Rosters

The entry list for the Goodyear 400 NASCAR Cup Series race at Darlington Raceway is posted, 36 teams/drivers [for 40 spots] are listed.
Some of the drivers entered include: #15-Brennan Poole, #48-Josh Berry, #51-Ryan Newman, #78-BJ McLeod.
See the full entry list on the Goodyear 400 Entry List page.

Goodyear Fast Facts — Darlington Raceway

TandemDraft Stats – Darlington

Weekend Event Schedule



Track News