Jayski's Silly Season SiteJayski's Silly Season Site
HOMESTEAD, FLORIDA - JANUARY 15:  Erik Jones tests the Next Gen car at Homestead-Miami Speedway on January 15, 2020 in Homestead, Florida. (Photo by Michael Reaves/Getty Images) | Getty Images

NASCAR sets preliminary test schedule for Next Gen car


NASCAR on Wednesday released their master testing schedule for 2020 and set out tentative plans for testing of the Next Gen car. There are no plans to test the current Cup car this year.

NASCAR tests will be conducted at:

  • Auto Club Speedway (March 2 & 3)
  • Atlanta Motor Speedway (March 16 & 17)
  • Bristol Motor Speedway (April 6 & 7)
  • Dover International Speedway (May 4 & 5)

Those tests are schedule immediately following race weekends at those tracks.

In addition, tests will be held at Charlotte Motor Speedway on June 2 & 3 and Las Vegas Motor Speedway on July 14 & 15.

Later in the year, NASCAR plans to begin organized team tests with the car. That tentative schedule is as follows:

  • Tuesday, August 25 – Charlotte Motor Speedway oval
  • Tuesday, September 8 – Charlotte Motor Speedway oval
  • Tuesday & Wednesday, September 22-23 – Texas Motor Speedway
  • Tuesday, September 29 – Charlotte Motor Speedway oval
  • Tuesday, October 13 – Charlotte Motor Speedway ROVAL
  • Tuesday & Wednesday, October 13-14 – Dover International Speedway
  • Tuesday, October 27 – Charlotte Motor Speedway ROVAL
  • Tuesday, November 10 – Charlotte Motor Speedway ROVAL
  • Tuesday & Wednesday, November 17-18 – Las Vegas Motor Speedway
  • Tuesday, November 24 – Charlotte Motor Speedway oval
  • Tuesday, December 8 – Charlotte Motor Speedway oval
  • Tuesday & Wednesday, December 15-16 – Phoenix Raceway