Jayski's Silly Season SiteJayski's Silly Season Site

Truck, XFINITY drivers to square off in World Wide Technology Raceway iRacing event

Twenty-two professional drivers from a wide variety of racing series have entered World Wide Technology Raceway’s inaugural iRacing event. The Bommarito Automotive Group Throwback 500 will be held on Sunday, March 29, at 8 p.m. Eastern, and will be broadcast on Speed51.com. The race will carry a throwback theme for car entries.

The iRacing drivers will compete from home – on computer sim racing rigs (sim = simulator) – on a digital replica of WWTR’s 1.25-mile oval, which is home to the annual NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Series 200 and NTT IndyCar Series Bommarito Automotive Group 500. Race fans from all over the globe may tune in to Speed51.com to witness the action.

A sim racing rig consists of a computer, monitor, steering wheel and pedals. Some pro drivers invest thousands of dollars into their sim rigs but one of the most successful racers cobbled his together with parts from eBay and Walmart.

For those not familiar with iRacing and the Elite Racing League (@EliteRacing_), last Sunday’s NASCAR iRacing event, televised on FS1, earned a 0.53 rating (903,000 viewers) and was the most viewed esports event in U.S. TV history, beating a Mortal Kombat event on the CW in 2016. (Sources: Adam Stern/Sports Business Daily and eSports consultant Manny Anekal)

NASCAR Xfinity Series

  • Andy Seuss – also a two-time NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour champion.
  • Garrett Smithley – turned a lot of heads by finishing up front in Sunday’s NASCAR iRacing event on FS1.
  • Ryan Vargas – Made his Xfinity Series debut in 2019 at Iowa Speedway.
  • Josh Bilicki – Returns to the Xfinity Series in 2020 on a limited schedule with team owner BJ McLeod.

NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series

  • Spencer Boyd – Born in St. Louis in 1995, Boyd won his first Truck race at Talladega in 2019.
  • Jordan Anderson – Although he’s not from the St. Louis-Metro East Region, Jordan has become a local favorite and is sponsored by the Bommarito Automotive Group.
  • Tyler Ankrum – A veteran of USAC Quarter Midgets and the USAC Ignite Midget Series before winning the 2018 NASCAR K&N Pro Series East championship in his rookie season.
  • Austin Wayne Self – the Texan is a veteran of four seasons in the NASCAR Truck Series.

The race also includes drivers from NHRA, IndyCar, and USAC.