Skip to content
Jayski's Silly Season SiteJayski's Silly Season Site

2022 Cup Team Chart

NOTE: This is an unofficial page compiled by from many different sources. We try to make it as complete as possible and update it as often as needed.

Previous team charts by season: 2021, 2020, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007,2006, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2002, 2001, 2000, 1999, 1998

NOTE: It’s too early to know how things will shake out for 2022. However, a sizeable number of changes are expected. Currently this is more of a “lay of the land” collection of info rather than a standard team/driver chart.

One thing is for certain…nothing is certain. Drivers can retire, teams can buy out contracts, sponsorship can disappear, things will change….

Drivers changing teams?

  • Matt DiBenedetto: Team Penske announced they will move Austin Cindric into the #21 for 2022, but plans changed and he will move into the #2, as Keselowski will leave Penske. Harrison Burton will join the Wood Brothers next season, replacing DiBenedetto.
  • #1-Kurt Busch – Signed a multi-year deal in 2019 that expires this year. He brings Monster Energy sponsorship to the team. The Athletic has reported that he is a candidate to drive a second car for 23XI Racing, if they can obtain a charter.
  • #2-Brad Keselowski – Signed a one year renewal with Penske in 2020. He will move to Roush Fenway and take an ownership role with the team, in addition to driving the #6 in place of Ryan Newman
  • #42-Ross Chastain – Contract length was not announced but believed to be one year. The sale of Chip Ganassi Racing makes him a free agent, although he is believed to be a leading candidate for the second Trackhouse Racing team.

Drivers with contracts ending in 2021

  • #3-Austin Dillon – He’s not expected to go anywhere.
  • #6-Ryan Newman – Believed to have signed a three-year contract in 2019, expiring at the end of 2021. Keselowski’s move to Roush could push Newman out if he wants to continue racing full-time, but RFR has said they have offered Newman a part-time opportunity to remain with the team that he is still pondering.
  • #10-Aric Almirola – His seat is probably safe as long as Smithfield likes him.
  • #17-Chris Buescher – Contract ends after 2021 but RFR says they expect him to remain with the team for “the next three years…but well beyond that”.
  • #34-Michael McDowell – Believed to have a year-to-year contract. He says he wants to stay with the team.
  • #37-Ryan Preece – Sponsorship and the lack of a charter has the status of this driver / team combo up in the air.
  • #43-Erik Jones – Richard Petty Racing holds an option for Jones at the end of the season.  Jones says he would like to return.
  • #47-Ricky Stenhouse Jr. – JTG announced a “multi-year” agreement starting in 2020.
  • #48-Alex Bowman – He has now signed a two-year extension with Hendrick.

Drivers with an unknown contract status:

  • #00-Quin Houff – Likely year-to-year deal.
  • #8-Tyler Reddick – No solid information on his contract status. He announced in August 2020, that he was returning to RCR in 2021.
  • #20-Christopher Bell – JGR only announced that he was joining the team for 2021. However, he’s not expected to move.
  • #38-Anthony Alfredo – Likely year-to-year deal.
  • #41-Cole Custer – He’s not expected to move.
  • #51-Cody Ware – Likely year-to-year deal.
  • #52-Josh Bilicki – Likely year-to-year deal.
  • #78-BJ McLeod – He’s part owner so he’s staying unless a driver comes to the team with sponsorship.

New teams in 2022. These teams would want to secure a charter.

  • GMS Racing announced that it will run Cup in 2022, but has not released any details for schedule, driver, etc. They may run part-time as an open team.
  • Kaulig Racing has purchase two charters and will run two-full time teams. Justin Haley will run one of the cars full-time. Team has announced that A.J. Allmendinger will run a partial schedule, but that could be with a third team.  Another driver could be in the second team car full-time if sponsorship is secured.
  • There is speculation that 23XI Racing would like to expand to a second team. Kurt Busch has been linked to the ride.
  • Trackhouse Racing has purchased Chip Ganassi Racing and will operate two teams. Suarez will drive one of the cars.  The other driver has not been named.
  • JR Motorsports is considering the possibility of adding a Cup team, but says the cost of a charter is a stumbling block.

Full-time teams with charters in 2021:

Leased charters in 2021: #7- Spire Motorsports, #99-Trackhouse Racing.  Teams can only lease a charter for one year, so they will need to lease another or buy one in 2022.

Number Team Primary Driver(s)
00 StarCom Racing Quin Houff
1 Chip Ganassi Racing Kurt Busch
2 Team Penske Brad Keselowski
3 Richard Childress Racing Austin Dillon
4 Stewart-Haas Racing Kevin Harvick
5 Hendrick Motorsports Kyle Larson
6 Roush Fenway Racing Ryan Newman
7 Spire Motorsports Corey LaJoie
8 Richard Childress Racing Tyler Reddick
9 Hendrick Motorsports Chase Elliott
10 Stewart-Haas Racing Aric Almirola
11 Joe Gibbs Racing Denny Hamlin
12 Team Penske Ryan Blaney
14 Stewart-Haas Racing Chase Briscoe
15 Rick Ware Racing Joey Gase / J.J. Yeley / James Davison / Garrett Smithley
17 Roush Fenway Racing Chris Buescher
18 Joe Gibbs Racing Kyle Busch
19 Joe Gibbs Racing Martin Truex, Jr.
20 Joe Gibbs Racing Christopher Bell
21 Wood Brothers Racing Matt DiBenedetto
22 Team Penske Joey Logano
23 23XI Racing Bubba Wallace
24 Hendrick Motorsports William Byron
34 Front Row Motorsports Michael McDowell
38 Front Row Motorsports Anthony Alfredo
41 Stewart-Haas Racing Cole Custer
42 Chip Ganassi Racing Ross Chastain
43 Richard Petty Motorsports Erik Jones
47 JTG Daugherty Racing Ricky Stenhouse, Jr.
48 Hendrick Motorsports Alex Bowman
51 Rick Ware Racing Cody Ware
52 Rick Ware Racing Josh Bilicki
53 Rick Ware Racing Joey Gase/ James Davison / Garrett Smithley / J.J. Yeley
77 Spire Motorsports Justin Haley
78 Live Fast Motorsports BJ McLeod
99 Trackhouse Racing Team Daniel Suarez

2021 Teams without a charter (does not include one-off teams)

Number Team Primary Driver(s) 2022 Notes
16 Kaulig Racing Kaz Grala Moving to full-time in 2022
33 Team Penske Austin Cindric Not likely to run, unless Penske gets sponsorship for a 4th team.
37 JTG Daugherty Racing Ryan Preece Unknown plans
66 Motorsports Business Management Timmy Hill Unknown plans
62 Beard Motorsports Noah Gragson Unknown plans
96 Gaunt Brothers Racing Ty Dillon / Harrison Burton Unknown plans

Teams that will not compete in 2022

Unknown plans (don’t count on these teams entering until you see the car at the track)

Number Team
? Tommy Baldwin Racing
32 GO FAS Racing
44 NY Racing Team
50 The Money Racing Team